The Man Test

Author: Jossan
Version: 1.0.1
Last Updated: 2015-01-03 07:35:06


Review by CherylC
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2017-01-18 03:12:08

Quite good...and very enjoyable. Great basis for expansion. Thank


Review by Bialaska
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2016-04-10 13:59:22

The game was interesting for the first playthrough, but somehow I would have liked there to be more endings, unless I have somehow missed something. 


Review by Arael
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2016-02-06 01:52:35

The Man Test, in brief:

Pros: A complete, well told, short story in Twine supplemented with aptly selected sexy photos.

Cons: Badly needs proofreading and editing. Quotation marks are entirely absent.

Analysis: The Man Test succinctly captures, in all its nigh comical absurdity, the worst nightmare of White American Men who ascribe to traditional notions of White American Masculinity.

In depth (spoilers to follow, you have been warned):

The Man Test is about a White American Man who struggles to live up to the standards set by Traditional White American Masculinity. By his failure to meet those standards, he feels that he is no longer properly a man, and having failed at being a man, then, it follows in the strange logic of Masculinity, that he must be a woman.

Literally.

The game begins with the protagonist having lost his job. Bam. Already, he's on the slippery slope to losing his manliness. According to Traditional White American Masculinity, men are the wage-earners and providers for the family and women are home-makers and child-rearers. Without his job, he cannot be a man. His sphere is the working world. Unemployed, he is condemned to the woman’s sphere of the home. Already, in his mind, he has been turned into a woman. In order to regain his lost masculinity, he enters the Man Test gameshow, which through various trials tests his:

- intelligence (men must be smarter than women)

- strength (men must be stronger than women)

- athleticism (men must be more athletic than women)

- sexuality (men must be attracted to women)

Fail a few tests, and our man may struggle with a growing attraction to Black Men that can culminate in being impregnated by an African tribe. Yeah. You heard me. Traditional White American Masculinity is homophobic, sexist, AND racist. Gay men are traitors to manliness, women must be dominated, and black men are the enemy. Traditional White American Masculinity is threatened by Black Men because of slave-state racist stereotypes that portray black men as big and strong. Anything that makes you feel less big and strong, that is, manly, is a threat to your manhood.

And oh yeah, if our man is turned into a biological woman by failing The Man Test, his wife leaves him for—did you guess a black man?—wrong, but close on the masculine insecurity scale. It’s her old friend from the football team, who is a jerk, unlike our man, who is definitely "A Nice Guy" *eye roll*.

So The Man Test is a thing of beauty in that it perfectly encapsulates everything that The White Man raised on 1950s notions of American Masculinity fears most.

 


Review by andrew316
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2016-01-12 19:09:06

I liked this game. It's not too long and not too short. All the challenges have some really fun but sexy pictures and the story is not unnecessarily compicated. Simple and effective. This game is good.


Review by Blauz.
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-08-03 02:18:39

This one of the many games I downloaded from the page as soon as they were posted: one of those I consider a complete(d) success. Other games may be just as likeable as this game (is to me) or just as technically flawless as this game is; but not all games are complete AND evocative AND well build. 

The character one plays is a man who lost his job and his self-esteem as a provider. His stay-at-home wife and his stepmother have started to wear him down and pushed him into a gameshow to prove his "manliness" to them and to the world. 

The theme of this page and of other games let one guess what happens if the character fails: win and be a "man" or do not win... But the game mechanics allow one to win -or to crash with some fun; and then crash hard. Not to spoil the gamefun the endings should not be mentioned here, but let's say the gamebuilder plays with some stereotypes of male potence. If you need a reference, confer "1001 nights", original version, not comic nor children's variant. 

I like the game and look forward to play other games by the same author/builder. 


Review by vortex
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-08-02 19:12:15

I didn't enjoy this game. the gameplay itself is okay but it could be better if you had more of a clue what the various options actually did before hand. another thing that rubbed me the wrong way is the game is determined to be 100% either way and that truely aggitates me in a game that gives you multiple choices. Finally the whole thing seems mean spirited to start with.


Review by Haagenti
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-07-23 03:42:57

The Man Test is a fast, colorful game with excellently chosen pictures that puts you in the shoes of a certain Morgan White who has volunteered to compete in a televised game where much is on the line.

 

Themes include large black organs, moderate sissification and a decent amount of females with strap-ons.

 

The content is well-written and coloring is used to differentiate different speakers. The transformations are somewhat sudden, but the images help out where the words are a bit lacking. A small missed opportunity: the protagonist's color could have been changed after the transformation.

 

Ideally there would have been less streamlining and more (transparent) choices. Currently the male/pregnant endings require very specific paths, and some of them are not intuitive or obvious at all (e.g. why does the combination magazine + look around the room make a male ending impossible).

 

The surprise ending consists of several possible combinations, and is fairly well done (although pictures would have made it better).

 

In summary, TMT is a solid entry into the genre; it is quick to play and has excellent replay value.


Review by seabeat
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-01-07 16:14:08

If there was an interacial tag on the site this game would definitly qualifiy. Game seems well put together if that's your thing.


Review by Majsharan
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-01-07 11:20:09

I like this game, its a bit short and one tracked but still, good.


I would like it you could do stuff in between days. For example when you can search your room and find the dildo, I think you should be able to use it on yourself or have the show babe use it on you. IF you take the shower, give you the option to drop the towel or have the show babe spy on you. Things of that nature.


Review by clint
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-01-07 08:32:40

Great game albeit a short one. I REALLY loved it but i have to agree with interestedid that it lacks middle ground, you either end up alpha male or woman. I would really like to see some more games like this one on this site.


Review by TremorFang
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-01-05 19:20:17

I really enjoyed the game. So much so that I was sort of sad it ended. The pictures compliment the story well and the writing was fine. I had enough fun that I'd love to see a sequel or continuation of what happens after the game show (if possible) some day. Good job.


Review by AussieBloke
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-01-04 18:44:11

Very enjoyable game and complete at the time of release. The writing was fine, there were no glaring inconsistencies and the pacing was steady.  I love transformation by gameshow / forfeit style of fiction, so this hit my buttons, and the pictures were well chosen and complemented the writing.  The game is fairly short and a little linear, as mentioned, but the transformation is drawn out enough to be very enjoyable, and it encourages replaying, to find all the endings. For a first game, it is excellent, and I hope the author / creator will continue to produce further entries, I look forward to more of this style. 


Review by theblacksmith
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-01-04 17:42:41

Eh. I've seen better. The writing is mediocre at best- run-on sentences are frequent, there's almost no sense of pacing, and the words themselves just fail to grab my attention.


Review by interestedid
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-01-04 09:32:47

I love this style of game --- my only gripe is that there is no middle ground. I only got manly or a pussy. And 1 mistake anywhere will get you pussy. :(


Review by synful
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2015-01-03 23:09:45

A little on the short and linear side, but nicely written and enjoyable for what it is.


Review by Hazzah
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-01-03 04:28:57

Nice game! 


Review by shiskite
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-01-03 00:57:22

Really amazing game. I loved the idea and the endings were fun to find as well. All around a fun quick game to play and would love to see your future work! Thank you for publishing it!


Review by Lupis
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-01-02 21:02:45

nice story... would definatly love more endings though from dominant to submissive male and or female

but other than that a nice game


Review by jorezn
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-01-02 16:42:54

a good game but would like some more endings one move in the wrong directen and you end up a women or loser and only if you make no mistakes you get to win but i would like if possible there be a middle ending where you are not a girl but also not the alpha male


Review by -=Kiva=-
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-01-02 15:41:55

Great Game, would love to see more like it