Magical Camp

Author: HLF
Version: 0.2.4.
Last Updated: 2017-02-11 11:12:40


Review by JoeW
Version reviewed: 0.2.4. on 2017-02-24 23:16:07

 

 

 

Nice game love it . The transformation in body and mind is nice an slow.

 

With ever update the story line seems to get more complex with more possible paths to the future story. One thing I really like is that the MC can get slowly TFed with or without losing a fight. Also lose of a fight doesn't spell an automatic bad end. HLF keeps the players interested by providing new details about the characters' interest, backgrouond and motivation. The main characters are not one dimensional but has several possible reasons for interacting with the MC.

 

I would like a few of the main characters acknowledge the visible transformations going on. This version leaves one tangential storyline open, crates a possible new line with one of the group members, a possible future conflict with another magic girl. The main storyline hasn't ended but waiting for continuation in the next update.

 

 


Review by zigpron
Version reviewed: 0.2.4. on 2017-02-24 22:12:35

I'll keep this brief. This is possibly my favorite game on the site. Even if you took away the elements that make it appropriate for here, you'd still have a pretty decent JRPG. It's also a fun story. I very much look forward to future updates!


Review by LufiaLunar
Version reviewed: 0.2.4. on 2017-02-23 05:28:47

The game is great. Took me awhile to figure out that their is no level in this game. you fight enemys to get money. Im not sure if your time or if theres something else you have to do. Loosing is kinda 50/50 atm. I dont know if you intended it for that way, but it's sometimes really easy to win, and others you just get creamed. Those bees just wrecked my face, had to use the slime body all the time to survive.

Also noticed that there are branches to your story. Because of the branches you can get them screwed up. Ex: Physical day. If you start the process of getting everything except the alcohol and then stay with Marianne. you will still trigger the event scene of you stealing issabelle's stuff. That scene starts talking how you used the potion to make your way through the exam, even though you didnt since Marianne "helped" you. just thought I would point that out. Used to be a Debugger for games... I guess i kinda still am, since I find bugs in completed works with regular games out in the market.

*cough* So if someone is trying to go down a particular branch, you might want to correct certain scenes so things dont get complicated. Yeah the webcam is nicely placed for that scene but you didnt use the potion. so make another branch where it might spiral out of control. Have Isabelle do something to you differently.

Im going to keep playing and see if i see any other inconsistancy with your story.

Thanks and hope to hear an update soon.

Edit: I'm done? I think I hit the end of your content. Im at the part where im supposed to get a team of 4, But cant. since the game tells me i cant leave the camp until i have 4. I left the camp anyway :P went and got the third girl in Garacks tomb, and then Nada. Nothing after. I have four clues, but thats it. I have the rope for the well, nothing happens. I have the scene where the Dryad is saying trees are crying, Examined forest, nothing. Centaur cirl wants me to visit village? no change in map. Something in the water. These four clues i havent solved yet.

Im wondering if i broke the game. This is down the route of not using the potion. It would be nice if there was a End of content screen or something if that was the case.

At time of writing this edit, I hit 2:47 time in the game, the last 30 odd minutes was checking every single map again, using the rope and the light everywhere.(for some reason i still have it) even though it vanished when i used it to light the candle. it came back when i put the mana orb in. weird.

I want to say i hit the end. If anyone else out there has passed this part im in, let me know. It just doesnt feel right for it to end right there. Maybe i have to go back to the save and do the potion thing, maybe that opens things up...


Review by kithrin
Version reviewed: 0.2.4. on 2017-02-18 22:09:33

Two things i would like to see, a loose skill, and a simple diologe box saying that all content exousted.

 

reason for the loose skill, is i just did genaric physical attacks and won a fight, that i wanted to loose, even if it an option under escape to just take the damage.


Review by Forge
Version reviewed: 0.2.4. on 2017-02-18 14:14:45

I was honestly a bit sceptical as to how much I could enjoy and old school feel RPG, when I have become so used to cutting edge graphics. WOW was I WRONG! 10 out of 10!

Your stry was engaging, funny, emotional and left me loking forward to each new chapter. The animation is cute and involved enough to keep me looking forward t the next cut sceene (LOVE the Slime Magico one!) 

I can not wait until the next update!


Review by Ambi
Version reviewed: 0.2.3. - pre alpha on 2017-01-10 20:18:11

Okay - First of all - This is a great game!  It is my favorite RPG Maker Game and I haven't even finished playing it to the end of the current content.  This is a game that has a long, slow, (mostly) involuntary feminization of the protagonist AND a detailed, involving story.  This is a game with characters that are well developed, with their own personalities, motives and plotlines that you interact with.  This is a game I played carelessly, enjoyed thoroughly and then started playing again, enjoying it even more the second time.  There is a huge amount of content here!  This is one of those rare games that has so much to do in it that you can actually miss semi-large events in the game and still keep playing for a good long time. 

Now down to some details - Without any spoilers.  I liked SirQuacks 1-10 rating system on his Dec 6th Review, so I'll use one of my own... The numbers are quite high because -remember- putting a good story inside a video game is hard! 

Game Execution - 10/10 Hasn't crashed, everything works the way it should.  The only bug I've noticed so far in this non-"pre-alpha" is a few missing names in a cafeteria conversation.

Story: 9.5/10 - Involving, well paced and extensive!  Motivations are realistic.  So far, I haven't stopped and said, "Why in the World did they do THAT?" Missing a few of my fav. fetishes so far, but I'll be patient!  It DOES have a long, slow, involuntary feminization that is 'accidental/intentional' by circumstance.  You know some people want the MC to transform even more, but I'm not telling! 

Characters 9.9/10 - I know the main 6 characters, even remember their names.  I know how they behave, I like some more than others!    

Leveling - There is none!  New abilities, magical gifts and occasional equipment upgrades make you more formidable.  Monsters in this world don't get ridiculously more powerful just because they live in a different building.  You can also buy some equipment, but it isn't a game changer.

Skills - 7/10 - What few there are fit in the theme, have purpose, and even help both the motif of the transformation along.  I just wish there were a few more.  Maybe giggles, winks, wiggles, dances & hair-flips could be the basis of a few adorable spells & abilities? 

Items - 6.9/10 - Just like skills, the equipmemt is appropriate & just fine, I really just wish there was more!  Make-up, brushes, lingerie and all manner of feminine accoutrement could incentivize the MC to use them.  Again, I'm not done with the game, so I'm only commenting on what I've seen so far.

Maps: 7.5/10 OK, the overworld map is TEENY-WEENIE - but the dungeon maps are very nice and quite creative!  Like a few others, I think making the Magical Camp map a little larger would be a big plus to the game.  A library, nurse station, classroom, faerie circle, locker room, gym etc... could add even more depth to the cozy-homeyness of the camp. 

Transformation System - 10/10 - There are SO many ways the MC gets innocently and deliberately feminized.  This game is in a class by itself!  I would also appreciate a little more attention on 'boobs' but I know the game isn't finished.  More on this in "Enemies & Bosses"

Enemies and bosses: 9.5/10  -  I haven't met all the enemies & bosses yet - but so far they are well balanced and its fun to use simple strategies to maintain your MP and HP during battles.  Now that alone wouldn't earn them a 9.5/10, after all, they don't have much personality or dialogue... but they Bosses in this game DO have an amazing and unique feature.  The game doesn't end if they beat you!  The camp management teleports you back to camp if you're beaten by a boss.  Why is that a big deal?  Why does THAT boost the "Enemies and Bosses" score up to a 9.5?  Save the game (as you normally should!) before you fight the first boss and find out!  I'm not 100% sure, but I don't think that there is a game-penalty for losing a boss battle, suffering the consequences, and then returning to the same dungeon the next day to defeat the boss.  I believe that the game progresses forward when you defeat a Magico Boss, so taking an extra day might not effect the story progression.

This review was a little wordy - Apologies!  

If you are a fan of well made RPG Maker games, slow semi-involuntary feminization, magical girls or transformations in general - You REALLY should give this game at least a few hours!  : )    

XOXOX Ambi!

---UPDATE---

... and since Circle’s wonderful, huge walkthrough has helped me twice - here is the link to it. 

http://tfgamessite.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7923&p=290894#p290894

Of course it contains EVERY spoiler!  I'm trying to use the walkthrough after I 'accidentally' lose the first battle with each boss-magico. 


Review by qtanglegril
Version reviewed: 0.2.3. - pre alpha on 2017-01-09 01:50:18

as of 0.2.3,

this game is great and everyone should play it. it's worth several hours on a first playthrough as is and I can't wait to see a finished product (please don't abandon this I'll be really sad)

 

combat is pretty enjoyable for how simple it is to break (stack matk on MC, use heart blast). you actually did a good job of keeping it balanced and reasonably engaging outside of that one skill. the party members are all unique and have their own playstyle and it's just a nice example of a turn based RPG I don't hate. and those are few and far between. based on some of the PATK equipment available for a certain evil overlord in the mountain, though, I could see others catching up to MC which would even it out, but as it is MC just shines miles above the rest of the party and chews through bosses like a hot knife through butter. but, honestly, it's still fun, and that's what matters.

it is real easy to just get stuck into a million repetitive encounters though, and in those situations it's just kind of unrewarding to fight all the trash. which I understand is a product of not having levels to grind and instead just having customization/specialization through equipment, but after playing through a couple times there were definitely occasions where I couldn't help but think "damn I should have just turned encounters off." but that's probably just because I kept replaying it. RPGmaker movement makes avoiding diagonally moving encounters a bit fishy, otherwise barring some of the randomized movement enemies it was definitely possible to just avoid every encounter. which is fun and engaging in its own right. honestly I think you actually nailed it here really well. I felt encouraged to avoid shit, and when I screwed up and hit something it was frustrating for a flash and then there was the pretty-okay combat. I didn't really hate it until the mountain. but basically I just didn't feel like I got anything tangible from completing encounters. cash is easy to accrue and consumables aren't especially useful past the bee forest besides the occasional MP restore. but experience/levels would take a huge balance rework. the enemies that you have to kill for subquests were a good way to encourage fighting trash but they only last so long.

I like the level/map design here a lot too. I'm hoping they keep getting bigger and bigger while still maintaining the mazelike qualities that make them party endurance tests. as long as you manage resources intelligently there's never a point where you have to escape and reset. don't add a viewable map to dungeons no matter what people might say though that'll ruin it. each dungeon was more promising than the last.

it is still a pretty easy game but it doesn't seem like you're going for challenge here anyway, so that's kind of moot. again it's fun and that's what matters.

the dialogue writing is tenouttaten. Veronica and Marianne have some hilarious lines that I'll remember for some time. seriously this is great. all the characters are interesting in some way and aren't cardboard cutouts, even if a couple aren't really to my tastes. I still enjoyed reading all the dialogue.

 

camp feels a little empty small compared to the impression you'd get from dialogue and number of NPCs but this is pre-alpha at the time of this post so whatever. maybe it'll get expanded, but frankly this complaint is really negligible.

I was actually expecting some hair options after a certain event, but I understand there might be limitations here based on the existence of a CG that features blonde haired MC.

and the game needs a bit of proofreading for fluidity, but 95% of the time it's just fine.

 

finally all I really have to say is Tilia better be a party member or at least a romantic interest with a full-fem route and ending. she's the best girl. unlocking the mysteries of getting huge tits for her was an enjoyable experience.

 

tl;dr best game on the site 11/10 put tilia in smash 4 keep on rockin sorry about the wall of text


Review by SirQuacks
Version reviewed: 0.2.3. - pre alpha on 2016-12-06 19:24:16

This game is really amazing. I absolutely hated the TFs and the magical girl concept. I never liked the Director, biach was too stronk for my manliness.

Story: 10/10

Characters 11/10

Concept delivered: 10.5/10

Map:8/10 (lack of NPCs in overworld and map doesn't match the size of my perch)

Enemies and bosses: 9/10 (I kept getting my ass handed to me by the boss at the lab)

Boobs: 5/10 (not enough)

Manliness: 0/10 (the protagonist gets girlified and doesn't even have a hole in the lower front)


Review by bane89
Version reviewed: 0.2.2. on 2016-11-23 15:49:32

I haven't been on this site for long, but I am really enjoying the game, one of the games i've enjoyed most on this site so far. I would definitly recommend it


Review by TG_Slave
Version reviewed: 0.2.2. on 2016-11-23 12:00:16

This game is absolutely breathtaking. the slow transformation style along ith how the transformations are delivered makes for a truly unique and exciting experience. Just wish I could find this walkthrough that everyone else in the reviews section seems to have found. I'm 4+ hours in, without using a walkthrough, and I'm ondering if i''ve missed any content.

 

 

UPDATED REVIEW:  After apporximately 8 seperate playthroughs, this game NEVER gets old, and every time an update is dropped, it's like being a little kid on christmas morning. It's exceptionally rare to find a content creator that is as involved with their community and listens to their feedback, but HLF continuously brings their community together, with regular updates, helpful comments, little hints here and there, and most importantly a welcoming and fantastic personality that shows through in their writing in-game. More content is planned for this game, and I eagerly await every last drop of it.


Review by ezalor
Version reviewed: 0.2.2. on 2016-11-21 10:47:21

Best writing of any porn game, top notch HLF

 


Review by aegis7
Version reviewed: 0.2.2. on 2016-11-16 22:23:09

Normally, I avoid RPG Maker games. They tend to rely too much on insta-TF's and generic JRPG combat that goes on for hours and hours. They are a few gems, but I'd all but given up on them. Boy am I glad I gave this one a try. It's a long, well polished, well written and overall interesting game. What's more, it has a slow TF that's as well written and complex as any on here. It's not 100% done yet, but when/if complete would be a must-read for slow TF fans.

Not only that, but the actual story itself is well written and engaging. It can be a blt cliched at times, but there's anime out there that's written with less care than this. It also had me actively theorising about the characters and their motivations throughout the story, so it's doing something right. Honestly, take out the fetish content, this might make a reasonable JRPG based on it's story alone, with some polish. 

In summary, if you like slow, well described TFs, you owe it to yourself to give this a try. 


Review by jrepg
Version reviewed: 0.2.2. on 2016-10-20 16:08:19

Wow!  This is a great game!  The content available, especially at the beginning is so complete and in depth.  When you get far enough into the game where the characters fall into just rote responses/options, it is a little jarring just because there was so much depth earlier.

The game is not yet finished, but there are still hours of playtime here, even if you use the debug switch to speed up dungeons.  I highly recommend playing it the first time without reading any walkthroughs or forum posts (or at least going until you get stuck before doing so).  There is just so much depth that you will still have a great experience playing it from scratch, and then you can read about things you might have missed and play it again to find all them.


Review by Ragnaroky
Version reviewed: 0.2.2. on 2016-10-15 12:05:40

I made an account specifically to review this game. It is fantastic. Thanks, I will absolutely be following its development.


Review by kronkkrop
Version reviewed: 0.2.2. on 2016-10-15 00:28:13

Wow.  This game is unreal.  I'll try to keep it brief as to not spoil the game for anybody.  The premise is a lot of fun.  The story was very well written.  A few of the scenes tugged on my heartstrings which I never thought possible for a game I'd find here.  As for the art, it's all pretty typical of an RPG maker game.  The author made dungeons that are very well executed and quite large.  Leaving combat on, the game took approximately 8 hours to complete.  I would highly recommend you give this game a try.

 

10/10  I'll keep a close eye on updates to this game!

 

 

kronkkrop.


Review by BattleGirl
Version reviewed: 0.2.2. on 2016-10-09 20:24:47

This game is the best game EVER! The story is amazing, the art is amazing, and the transformation is the most amazing of all! Theres like 20 events, first you get dressed up, then you lose your adam's apple, your wig turns into your real hair, then theres like 4 different event that grow your breasts from 0 to c cup! Best game I have played anywhere ever!


Review by StarFire950
Version reviewed: 0.2.2. on 2016-10-09 16:48:16

I get a crash after it says [Name] Nice to meet you [Name]. I am using WINE but have never had errors while running RPG Maker games. And VX Ace is suppose to have a gold rating but that is outdated. I also turned off my staging features to debug it and see if that was the problem, but no luck. Then I reinstalled the game and RPG Maker and no luck


Review by facemugger
Version reviewed: 0.2.1. on 2016-09-29 14:43:18

I could see myself paying, say, $20 for a 1.0 release of this game. Really good amount of content. The writing and story are somewhat mediocre overall but still pretty fun and really good for a relatively early build of a free game. No complaints at all, looking forward to (hopefully) seeing even more content. Refreshing change from most of the other games on this site that are just the "skeleton" for a game or contest entries where the game basically does not receive updates. It looks like this game is updated pretty infrequently but it already has a good amount of content and some of the updates have added significant amounts more.


Review by CourtneyHC
Version reviewed: 0.2.1. on 2016-09-29 00:57:58

This is easily one of the best TG games I've ever played. Excellent writing (even though there are many typos), an amazingly well orchestrated slow transformation for the main character, and pretty good RPG gameplay as well.

My only criticisms would be some very poorly telegraphed Game Overs. You'll just talk to a character and not realize you're beginning a long chain of conversations and cutscenes that will lead to a game over.

Also, it's not clear when you've reached the end of current content. I really like it when TF games put up signposts so you know you've exhausted the main story at least.

I'll be replaying this many times. So good.


Review by soldatoflife
Version reviewed: 0.2.1. on 2016-09-27 20:29:11

7 hours and 10 minutes in:

I originally played the previous verison of this game and had fun.

I just played through the current version and followed the walkthrough, seeing as I wanted to experience as much as possible, that and I am more of a story person than one that likes to really lose myself in challenges. This game offers plenty of story and very nice art so far. The recent update has a few extra scenes that I'm super excited to see further develop. I might hold onto playing the next updates until most of the art is implemented, seeing as I don't want to play through this game 5-10 times. Having played 7 hours with the current content is lots of TIME!! 

The characters aren't overpowered, the monsters are pretty much just about right challenge wise (for me at least ^^) and the music is fairly relaxing in most cases, which is very good seeing as one spends much time playing. A few more stressful pieces are played, but not too much.

All in all, this really is shaping into a very good video game. Cheers to the creator!!!! :)

 

 

*******

Update 0.2.1.c :

8 hours and 33 minutes in and I'm wondering how big this game if each 0.0.1 added to the game offers as much content. If the game needs to reach 1.0.0.0 to be complete, I'll be in here for....too many hours to count on my fingers :P


Review by Voldo
Version reviewed: 0.2.0.2. on 2016-08-21 14:08:08

A high quality game, convincing characters and the possibility to make choices that really influence the story. Fighting requires some reasoning and you usually lose if you underestimated something rather than by a stoke of bad luck. The story is more or less an anime parody done convincingly and worth an afternoon of your time. It is full of innuendo but there still little sexual action.


Review by uwu
Version reviewed: 0.2.0.2. on 2016-08-14 11:48:26

Game is amazing. So early in dev and Ive already invested more than 4 hours into it! I dont even mind the slow TF, if anything it makes the game feel even better. The characters are great. I really cant complain, I really just want to see more.

I cant wait for more content :)


Review by citrictrick
Version reviewed: 0.2.0.1. on 2016-08-03 00:14:10

I believe that it's going to be worth the wait. I definitely like the more slow TFs, and the mental changes are especially well done. The common pitfalls/cliches of TF stores are avoided and it's refreshing to see something that doesn't take itself seriously but keeps a consistent lore. I have to say that I wound up being quite drawn into this world and its characters even though most of them are pretty bare-bones. I eagerly await the full version, and give kudos to the author.


Review by halfcookie
Version reviewed: 0.2.0.1. on 2016-08-01 00:44:15

This game is incredible, to say the least. Hours of content, lots of hidden dialogue, Persona styled character interactions and well crafted combat! A must-play!


Review by Random45
Version reviewed: 0.2.0.1. on 2016-07-18 01:18:50

If you like your TFs to be a very gradual and slow burn, then this is the game for you.

I started to play because, well, it's a TF game with a bunch of themes that I'm totally into. The game starts off as kind of a joke - you're sent to this magical girl camp and can't get back in time, so you have to cross dress and pretend to be a magical girl until you have time to escape. Howver, as the days progress, the story actually starts to become more involved, and after a while I stopped playing it for the TF themes, and more just because I was genuinely enjoying the characters and story. It's not just that though, the gameplay is actually pretty good and fairly well balanced (most of the encounters felt too easy, with the exception of some of the later bosses), and the dungeons get more and more creative as the game continues on. I know that's typically standard for most games out there, but this is a free TF game on the internet, so it's surprising to me to see something with this high of quality on the site.

The characters really do steal the show though. The whole Magical Girl crew you get together about a quarter of the way through the current content are all a lot of fun, and they all have their own issues. It's pretty funny that despite the fact that your character is a guy cross dressing who may be slowly turning into a girl, your issues seem to be the least severe. Your character had a relatively okay childhood from what I gather, these other girls... Not so much. I love the fact that this game essentially has 'Social Links' like in Persona, where at the end of the day you can spend the day with several characters from the cast, and this can lead to you gaining affection points and some potential TFs as well, which will lead to future romances once they're eventually added to the game. The cast gets an A+ from me, I definitely want more events with them to be added in the game, and I look forward to exploring the romance paths when they're eventually added as well.

I got about four and a half hours played, and that's with me following the guide, so I knew exactly what to do and when. That's not a bad length at all, and it's not even close to being finished yet.

This is a fantastic TF game, and I highly look forward to when it's done.


Review by miragelol
Version reviewed: 0.1.3.3. on 2016-07-08 10:54:50

I really liked this game. But I can't get to the centaur event, or maybe i just reached the end of the content I don't know


Review by DeadJokr
Version reviewed: 0.1.3.3. on 2016-07-05 17:01:58

geat game but needs to my the key easier to see in the bee place i wasnt able to find it until i looked up the walkthrough


Review by MichealRein
Version reviewed: 0.1.3.3. on 2016-05-19 06:19:31

I really like this so far but I think I've gotten to the end of the content. Is there anything after freeing the centaur? I've been going around for a while trying to see if something will change.


Review by Jhal3mbustion
Version reviewed: 0.1.3.3. on 2016-05-15 17:12:18

So far, this game has been really solid, but there are a few problems that can be a turn off and that would have had me giving up on the game if it was not being updated so frequently.

 

First of all, playing through the game the first time, it was strange to not have Isabelle's dinner date not be mandatory on the first or second day. I think this messes with the player's impression of the game and it is worse that the dialogue clearly reflects that the event should have happened on the first or second day. When I moved on through the game without going to Isabelle, everything still felt natural, but I got upset when I realized that I could not spend dinner with Natalie anymore, even though I did not mind about progressing the relationship further. All of a sudden, I thought that I was stuck on a timer based on how many dating events I could complete before running out. So, I went through Alice and finally all of Isabelle's dates and thought that there was no way to continue playing.

 

Then I realize that Giselle (the cook for the camp) allows you to eat meals without anyone. The problem with this idea is that avoiding the first date with Isabelle prevents this possibility from showing up. When everything else in the village is so stagnant, it becomes very easy to overlook her change in position that allows you to talk to her for dinners. So, there should either be the ability for non-romantic dinners with characters who can not progress further into romance or Isabelle's first date should be mandatory within the first two days or so, or else it feels like this lax game system is actually restricting me.

 

The music is also a bit underwhelming. The best themes by far is the RPGMaker VX battle theme and Funky Future Shop (Tilia's theme). In my opinion, the music that plays at camp is on the border between bad and good. I can't honestly say that it should be changed, but it feels out of place a lot of the time and seems more appropriate for the beginning of the game than anything. Maybe there should be more moments where the music changes while you are walking around. More active events at the camp in general would most likely only be a good thing. A little too many of the events come towards you or require you to date someone. There should probably be non-affection-based ways to end the day that actually have an impact.

 

Another major problem I found with this game was the event scripting. Events are badly scripted all over the place. There are people at the camp who never change what they say. There should at least be a second line of text that they have if you talk to them a second time or the lines that are repeated should just be updated later in the game. This gets worse with story-sensitive conversations. The absolute worst of these comes when you have to take the physical exam and your guardian fairy or whatever tells you to collect three items for a spell, which she does not tell you about when you ask her again. The second and third item are easy to remember and there are reminders throughout this part of the game that help you properly get to them. However, the first item mentioned is not only given an abstract description that is easy to gloss over on accident, but it is also never mentioned by any of the other characters in that moment of the game unless you actually manage to collect it. If you save your game after having the conversation already, this can easily cause you to miss the best way to pass through the physical. The reason being that finding the first item is nearly impossible without the hint. The location of the item's sparkle graphic is placed somewhere where it will be nearly impossible to see unless you use the clue to realize that the item has to be in a certain area and look very carefully or just check where you expect it to be before seeing the sparkle.

 

One more thing that the creator should keep their eye on is the Kitchen Knife item. It seems to serve no purpose at all and it is definitely possible to do absolutely everything in the dungeon that contains the Kitchen Knife as of the time of this review. It would seem pointless to try expanding on that dungeon so the knife should probably be gotten rid of or used later on.

 

With all of that said, I really appreciate the creator's ability to balance an RPGMaker game so carefully. The game plays without level-ups, but instead uses social links to strengthen the team's abilities. (The main character is also benefitted by most transformations.) In the 0.1.3 version, the difficulty was just beatable, but 0.1.3.3's difficulty is more forgiving with the social links being both more entertaining and giving higher benefits. Additionally, combat is very satisfying, with two sets of skills that are usually very useful and that use TP (points gained from pain or action) or MP to power them. The fact that each girl has an MP-restoring ability with their TP reinforces the magical girl theme in a cool way. And yes, the writing is very effective despite some grammar and spelling errors. This game is erotic mostly through text and despite how it lacks anything on the side of pornagraphy, I think anyone who likes female domination and forced feminization will thoroughly enjoy those moments. Game overs against most bosses even have erotica events.


Review by shoopawoop
Version reviewed: 0.1.3.3. on 2016-05-13 10:58:02

This game is definitely one of the more solid RPGMaker games on the site, even in an unfinished state.

With the random encounters not forcing any kind of real grind on the player combat isn't particularly tedious and seems well balanced, especially with being able to turn it off on repeat playthroughs or just get good at dodging the encounters in the first place.

The way that transformations are used is wonderful with most of them being rewards for just trying things out or interacting with characters which is a wonderful way of rewarding the player's inquisitive side!

Yes, the dialogue could do with some editing to ensure that grammar is consistent throughout but this does not particularly distract from the quality of the implementation here, this is certainly a gem!


Review by fuzzbuddy
Version reviewed: 0.1.3.3. on 2016-05-13 04:49:29

The game is excellent. I'm impressed by the character development, transformations, and the main character's evolving thoughts on the changes. And I'm used to combat in RPG maker games being tedious, but I didn't mind it in this at all. Thanks for making the game!


Review by jaghave
Version reviewed: 0.1.3.1. on 2016-05-07 13:43:10

Easily one of the top five best games I've played on TFGames.


Review by Arael
Version reviewed: 0.1.2.5. on 2016-03-05 15:47:11

The game itself seems competently made, but the writing is bad. The author badly needs an editor.


Review by rc550
Version reviewed: 0.1.2.5. on 2016-03-04 22:07:30

This game is just great. The story is surprisingly engaging, and there are some great moments where you come worryingly close to getting discovered. This game is not perfect, but in my opinion, one of the best games that i've played on this site, and I cant wait to see what the author takes it with each update. I would absolutely recommend giving this game a try if it interests you at all.

 

9/10


Review by Yato
Version reviewed: 0.1.2.5. on 2016-02-27 19:02:26

Probably my fav rpg maker game here. Waiting for updates is painful but somehow I can make it (I guess). Keep up this amazing work you're doing right now.


Review by Jennifer69
Version reviewed: 0.1.2.2. on 2016-02-01 20:58:00

This fun and light hearted game involves the main protagonist finding a ticket dropped by what he thinks is a girl who is cosplaying as a magic girl. This magic ticket ends up being a one way teleporter to a magical camp that trains magic girls and he inexplicably ends up  using it. The worse part, he does not know how to get back and the director of this camp does not like boys! What ever will he do? He could, I do not know... disguise himself as a chick and hope that the spells that help in his disguise are not permanent?  Or perhaps he will end up liking the changes... Play and find out! 

I strongly recommend this game!


Review by linx4848
Version reviewed: 0.1.2.2. on 2016-01-25 23:39:02

THIS GAME IS SO PROMISING

I know this game is still in alpha but i cant help falling in love with its potential. The charictors are impressively deep, each with a uniqe personality that i hope will be flushed out less quickly in the games final build.

the gameplay is a little basic but using the (A) key to use key items to interact with the world is feature that I liked a lot, and it oozes potential story paths.

one issue i have is a lack of a leveling up system, there on monsters all over the worlds that you visit in this game but becouse they dont give exp i found them more to be nusenses to be avoided then chalenges to be overcome.

my final thoughts on this game is this: must try

ps; yo developer on this game, your killing it dog! this game is fire! please dont abandon homie!


Review by JustSomeSissy
Version reviewed: 0.1.2.1. on 2016-01-17 17:10:50

I really like this game. I would love more updates to play further. It would be nice if your characters leveled up as well, to make fighting enemies worth something. Great game so far though!


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 0.1.1. on 2015-12-20 10:20:06

I tends to avoid RPG maker games. First I really really hate the exe download. I always worry that there is a virus somewhere hidden. Then most of the RPG maker games either drag on for ages between interesting points. Some of the game have horrible graphics that kill any mood you might ever have. Then I really hate fairy tales.

This magical camp is a fairy tale, but it gets to the interesting part soon enough and reasonably well. The graphic is proper. The transformation is avoidable, but hardly avoidable. So that is fun.

The current end of development ends on day 3 and I have encountered a save load bug... my main character lost his magic after I reload a save game from a clean start...

All in all, I think Magical Camp is neat and I am willing to pay it another visit when the development goes a little bit deeper. Thumb up for this one.


Review by noxill
Version reviewed: 0.1.1. on 2015-12-20 03:04:40

Managed to recruit Alice and then got stopped. Please make more, this is fantastic so far. Except for a few typos. 

 

 


Review by ro123
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.1 on 2015-12-17 21:52:01

Unbelievable game! One of the best! Keep up, please don´t let it be forgotten. 


Review by orangejuju
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.1 on 2015-12-17 17:59:07

This is the most well put-together RPG Maker game I've found so far. No half-assing on the story and action or tf. I really really hope this is continued instead of being dumped. Good potential overall.


Review by 123321varsou
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.1 on 2015-12-17 09:06:06

Really THE best game on this site. Funny with lots going on and great writing. (some minor typos, but that's ok). I really hope this goes on!


Review by Yuyu
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.1 on 2015-12-16 17:15:26

One of the greatest games I've played in this site.

The choices are pretty nice, not to mention the humor and the characters. c: I'm hoping for fast releases, cause I can't wait to play the full version of this game.


Review by Geniegirl
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2015-12-15 02:49:58

OMg plzz keep working on this game. the story is fun the transformation is well placed and in all even short it is a great start and game.


Review by TurnedGothGirl
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2015-12-15 01:10:37

I love this game. It's my new favorite! Magical girl TFs are the best


Review by naminenam
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2015-12-14 21:13:48

i love it so far can't wait to see day 3 and so on and so on


Review by clarificio
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2015-12-14 11:31:54

Really nice game with good sense of humor and nice combat but looting only lumes (money) makes it a bit useless to fight monsters, you might go all the way to the boss since the shop is limited and you can have a "virtual" unlimited regeneration if you use light's blessing to regain your mana and heal your party.

But i want to see more, it's really really good ^^


Review by Privacybeforeall
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2015-12-14 09:24:55

9/10 Like many people told you combat is a bit tedious and there some typos, beside that great first veriosn of the game. MORE. I HUNGER FOR MORE!


Review by nothingsp
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2015-12-14 01:36:03

As has been noted, it's incomplete and needs some editing/spell-checking. That said, it's definitely promising - a good premise, some possibility for interesting character dynamics, and a decent sense of humor about itself. Plus, well-executed slow TF is always fun.


That said, the combat's kind of tedious, primarily because there's very little reward for anything but the boss fights - you don't seem to gain experience or levels, and there's barely anything to buy with the money. There really ought to be some sense of achievement/progression from the regular fights.


Still, looking forward to seeing how this one develops!


Review by Sapphic
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2015-12-13 23:20:46

Really hope this isn't one of those "start 0.1 and end at 0.11" type games because this one is really good. The only issue, as you said yourself, is typos. If english isn't native then it is perfectly understandable, if english is native then I suggest reading the sentences alloud to yourself to see if it sounds correct when you say it. I often find that writing in total silence makes you think about more than just what you're writing, so saying it to yourself to see if it is coherent is the best way to solve most gramatical errors.

 

Content wise this is a true 0.1 build. I've seen games published as complete with the same, or even less, amount of content than what you have here so it'd be a shame to see this go to waste. Not to mention what content is there is really good; comedic and light hearted dialouge along with a very balanced combat and abilities thus far.

 

Keep up the good work.


Review by drizzzit
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2015-12-13 21:27:53

Nice start.  Good story, decent 2 days of content.  Definately has room to develop within your two week story timeline.  Seriously hope to see more and discover the ramifications of taking all of Isabelle's help.

One comment, needs a ton of spelling fixes.  Most commonly incorrect work was "ticket" but it certainly wasn't the only one.  That's excusable of a 0.1 version, but you probably want to have someone play editor on all the dialogue before going too far into this.