Apocamorphosis

Author: Anonynn
Version: v0.9.2D
Last Updated: 2017-03-11 19:00:42


Review by shakey2
Version reviewed: 0.9.8.8 on 2016-08-17 01:37:48

This isn't a review so much as a complaint I felt the need to voice. Why is personality tied to the NSFW setting??? It's like you are saying sympathetic/serious people don't have sex drives -_- Now I'm forced to change my character design just to access the content I want to experience...


Review by Anonynn
Version reviewed: 0.9.8.8 on 2016-08-16 22:42:45

See comments :)


Review by d101232
Version reviewed: 0.9.8.8 on 2016-08-16 18:53:11

i can't put anything into the backpack did the command change or what

and yes i know this isn't a review but i need to know if it wasn't then can you fix it please I NEED INVENTORY SPACE!   


Review by Erik1986
Version reviewed: 0.9.8.6 on 2016-07-23 16:48:43

Promising aldo rough on the edges for now.

 

I realy didnt know what to expect when i first started playing this, but suprisingly i found it to be alot of fun. Why? Well it felt different then the usual guy-getst-turned-girl, or the adventure world with anthromorphic sexed up people. It is cliché, yes, with its standard trope of elves, dwars and other fanatasy races, and itts main story sofar isnt very different either. Yet it was the writing that caught my attention, not because it was flawless, but because it showed to me alot of potential to be more then yet another sex romp.


So i will refrain from spoilers, simply saying that the way the auther discibes the MC's journey and the enviroment around him/her was something i realy liked alot. While reading i can sometimes get lost in the world he tries to sketch for us, well done on that. It is still too early to say much about the whole game, it has some nice content, but not enought yet to truely keep you occupied for long. That isnt a problem though, since sofar i feel its worth the wait.


Now there are some thing i noticed, one is the abundance of overstating basic things, like hair colour, or the fact that your using your (insert race)hands to stroke your hair. In general, you dont need to name those details that make up your characters apearance in every paragraph, it's fine ocasionaly, but do it to often, and it loses its use. So i would sugjest toning donw on using things like hair colour, race height and other physical traits in each of your scenes and instead let them flow more naturaly. For example of a scene:

 

------BEWARE OF SPOILERS--------

 

"No! You can't just give up like that, can you? There has to be a way out of this! Despite your doubts, a renewed determination sweeps through your feminine figure. You can make it! You just have to push yourself harder! Lifting your arm, you wipe the sweat from your brow with your bicep, and then drag your elven feet onward down the last of the rolling hills, although you’re so tired you almost trip and tumble down it instead."

------BEWARE OF SPOILERS--------

 

Now this paragraph shows the use of bold and underscored words or sentences that are not realy neccesary to use. As the player you know your and elven MC, you chose to be one, same for your sex. Personaly i would just leave those out unless they are important, such as in a conversation with a npc (who usualy will act one way or another depending on what race/sex/atractiveness/etc you are i take it) You can use "examine me" to get most of this info at anytime anyway. I also doubt you will use your feet to whipe your brow, so using your arm, hand or part of it is sort of implied already :D

 

Now these are just sugjestions from my part, so take them as such and do what you believe is right for the story and writing. All in all i will definitly keep a eye out for future updates. Good luck.


Review by zerocatch22
Version reviewed: 0.9.8.4 on 2016-06-30 22:15:48

I really want to like this game, but I just can't.

To the author's credit, the game does update fairly frequently, and it shows improvement every single time. The interface is pretty much finished, and it's certainly one of the most artfully crafted Quest games that I've played on the site.

The problem is that despite the amount of work put into it (and there is a lot), there's never a lot of content. No, let me rephrase that: There's certainly a lot of text, and certainly a lot of items, and certainly a lot of dialog and interactions in the game, but so far there's not a lot of things to do and almost no places to go.

What do I mean by that? For a game that's supposedly set in a post-apocalyptic world, you spend almost the entirety of the game (at this point, I have no doubt the author intends to extend it) stuck in a house, and not an especially big one. What's more, many of the rooms that are there are empty, and the ones that have items that you can interact with generally don't give you much interaction. So far I've only been able to find one character TF in the game (not counting getting mauled by zombies), and it's presented in a voluntary hand-over-fist style that just isn't that interesting. I'm sure that there are more to find (I think), but wandering around a cramped space looking for them just isn't very gratifying.

The worst part is, because it is updated so often I keep downloading it thinking that there's going to be some big inrush of content, but that rarely happens (most of the updates are just bug fixes).

All I can say is, keep supporting this game; it has vision but lacks scope. It will get there, but it has a long way to go.


Review by Jindary
Version reviewed: 0.9.7.4 on 2016-02-21 19:14:35

Found this game on a different site (which actually led me to find tfgamessite!) a while back and i am really happy to see its being updated.  Love whats there so far and look forward to exploring more.

The puzzles are just hard enough and the writing really gets me into the character and searching around is fun. 

 

only downside is very little erotic content, but Im not complaining as the game is still being created.


Review by bommie
Version reviewed: 0.9.7.2 on 2016-01-24 14:17:33

i never got out of the tree house. i find the clues that are given very poor and would recommend highlights.


Review by Pandion
Version reviewed: 0.9.6.6 on 2015-11-26 21:39:54

This game is hands-down my most eagerly anticipated. I'm glad to see that it's recieving updates.

 

The game only really has one area available as of this review, but exploring the house is a ton of fun, as is talking to it's two residents. There's some TF elements in thus far, and I'm looking forward to seeing how the TF systems are fleshed out.


Review by Ramses
Version reviewed: 0.9.6.4 on 2015-11-14 14:59:53

Great the game was good before but the look every direction before you moved thing was so redundant it made me quit playing relatively quickly. Havening much more fun with it now. Will up date this review after I have had time to play through it a few times :) !


Review by yinlotus
Version reviewed: 0.9.6 on 2015-10-15 05:32:52

Edit: Quest engine gave me troubles but I am loving the game so far.


Review by Joe Steel
Version reviewed: 0.8.0 on 2015-08-08 00:29:01

I thought this was well-written and probably very much on target for its audience.  Alas, I wasn't one of the intended ones, because I though the fairly random transformations were off-putting and I found myself backspacing to avoid transformations and thus not advancing the story.

I encourage the author to continue this, because it is clearly a game in a niche which is popular.  Even though I don't care for this sort of game, I recognize quality when I see it.


Review by Anon21
Version reviewed: 0.8.0 on 2015-08-07 10:43:55

[EDIT] Ooops.

Long story short, I accidentally ran the wrong version (0.5.5 not 0.8.0). Previous review deleted.

In more detail, I blame the Mega download service. Recently I have found that normal mega downloads (using just the browser) don't work. I have to sign up to the Mega service and go via the 'cloud drive'. It's all a bit fiddly and sometimes confusing. :(


Review by drizzzit
Version reviewed: 0.8.0 on 2015-08-06 15:15:52

I kind of agree with the last reviewer, so let me restate a few concerns hopefully clearer.

First this looks really interesting, the setting and house have my interest.  It constantly feels like I should be able to accomplish more that I do.  So that leads to some frustration because ultimately I find very little to do.

Much of this might be the engine.  Quest looks like an acceptable crossover between pure text and a Rags click style, but perhaps its not.  I'm not smart enough to think of other word combinations beyond what you call out in the text or what can be done on the room and inventory menus.  As such I never seem do much.  So yes I can find, pickup, touch, open, etc but not much happens with those commands.  Is there more?  If so I've missed it.

So like the last reviewer, I seem to forget what the project is each time you post.  I read your blog when you update and it still doesn't trigger a memory, so I download, start, LOVE the character editor and then frustratingly find next to nothing to do.  I've talked to the two characters in game, looked in a mirror, stole a cloth, opened a curtain, washed up a few times, touched a few items, etc.  None of this did more than give a little more text.

So great setting, I keep thinking I might be interested, but perhaps I should check back in a few months.  Building this is very hard and I don't doubt the work you've done at all.  If this has been a rewarding learning experience then thats great.  Content wise it feels like must users might be disappointed at the moment.


Review by sathirran
Version reviewed: 0.8.0 on 2015-08-05 20:59:42

Every time this game updates, it's the same story for me. First I can't remember what it is. Then I download it and remember that it seemed interesting and I get my hopes up. And then immediately..... nothing works. Nothing ever works. You start off with access to a lot of items, and not a single one of them does anything. Try to equip the machete? "I don't understand your command." Wear any of the clothes? "Error running script." Use the journal? "You can't use it." Look at the freakin journal? "Journal Entries do note [sic] work yet as of Version 0.4" Considering this is Version 0.8..... yeah.

Apparently there's now a character customization section at the beginning, but for now it just delays the disappointment. I'm not going to waste my time getting all the way back to where I was in the previous version, since I remember the long, boring, empty journey that was capped by an abrupt end. Last time I played, there was literally nothing to do but talk to one character. And walk.

Tl;dr, could be good but isn't. I'm not going to bother from now on, until everything in the opening 5 seconds of the game is no longer broken.


Review by Draquiem
Version reviewed: 0.2A on 2015-06-14 18:42:10

I've been following this game for a while now (in it's previous incarnation) and like it so far.

 

A couple of bugs I've come across (right at the beginning) and you probably are aware of already:

1)

> wear Plain Bra


Error running script: Error compiling expression 'item.worn = true': CompareElement: Operation 'Equal' is not defined for types 'Object' and 'Boolean'

2) The content of the packpack seems to be counted as content in your pockets, so when you grab a few dyes, you can't pick up any more, even if you place them in the backpack.

3) Perhaps by design, the goblinesque woman doesn't have a button for talking to her. I happened to be curious enough to try that on my own.

 

Well, anticipating what this game will turn out to be when you're getting some more writing in. Keep it up.


Review by revv
Version reviewed: 0.2A on 2015-06-14 16:22:08

Nice descriptive writing, the crickets at the beginning add a nice immersive feeling. Even if the repeating message was somehow irritaitng. I could not figure out if I am running out of time before the horde approaches and panicked then I noticed the single enemy has already arrived. So back to figuring out the engine

Many of the items and Hannah could use some more click funtionality. 

The content is quite short and on my first try I managed to shut in myself in the black room before meeting Hannah but what I have seen was interesting enough.

Rated: Fresh


Review by felixdahn
Version reviewed: 0.2A on 2015-06-14 15:46:29

Nice start, but with the exception of "Hannah" I'm not able to interact with anything.  Is that the current state of play?